Georgia Oncology (Cancer) Practice of the Year Presented to Harbin Clinic Oncology by Georgia Society of Clinical Oncology

The Oncology (cancer) Department of Harbin Clinic has been named the Practice of the Year for 2010 by the Georgia Society of Clinical Oncology (GASCO). GASCO is the professional organization representing physicians specializing in cancer care and their clinical, administrative and patient navigator support staff.

In 2009 the GASCO Board voted to create this award to acknowledge the contributions of Georgia’s cancer care professionals and their staffs in improving the quality and accessibility of cancer care to patients in support of GASCO’s mission. The Harbin Clinic is GASCO’s first recipient of this award. According to GASCO President, Dr. Jose Tongol, a medical oncologist in Albany, the award was presented to the Harbin Clinic Oncology Department “In recognition of its commitment to excellence and its support of the cancer care community in Georgia.” The criteria were distributed to all GASCO members and results determined at the end of 2010. The competition in 2010 was very close, which only underscores the number of exemplary cancer centers throughout Georgia.

“There is only one award presented each year,” Dr. Tongol said, “and candidates are identified by the center’s:

  • Active participation in GASCO
  • Commitment to research
  • Participation in GASCO educational offerings and programs sponsored by the Georgia Center for Oncology Research and Education (Ga CORE)
  • Participation in the Leadership of GASCO and/or GASCO’s strategic partners -- the Georgia Cancer Coalition (GCC) and Ga CORE.”

In addition, the selection committee also considers the practice’s contribution to quality of care, survivorship or other areas of leadership by members of the practice. If a nominee is represented on the GASCO Board, they are not aware of the finalists and are not sent ballots to approve the final winner.

The Harbin Clinic is the state’s largest physician-owned multi-specialty clinic with more than 200 providers in 20 locations throughout North West Georgia. The Harbin Clinic Cancer Program includes General Surgeons, Urologists, Pulmonologists and other specialists. The Radiation Oncologist Department includes Dr. Matt Mumber and Dr. J.C. Abdou. The Medical Oncology Department includes Dr. Melissa Dillmon, Dr. Dilawar Khan and Dr. Thomas Simpson, Jr. Harbin Clinic Medical Oncology and Radiation Oncology Departments will move into a new 54,000 sq. ft. cancer center in April 2011.